University of Minnesota
Human Rights Program
hrp@umn.edu
612-626-7947


Human Rights Program's home page.

Graduate Program

About the Graduate Minor in Human Rights

The Graduate Minor in Human Rights provides students enrolled in any graduate program, including professional schools, at the University of Minnesota, the opportunity to gain interdisciplinary expertise in the study of human rights laws and mechanisms. The program includes both classroom and field experience in international human rights issues and advocacy.

Each semester, the University of Minnesota offers a number of courses containing human rights content. Click here to view graduate level human rights courses.

Human Rights Program Graduate Students

Directory of Graduate Studies & Program Faculty

Name & Department Email
Barbara Frey
Director of Graduate Studies and
Director of Human Rights Program
freyx001@umn.edu
Kathryn Sikkink (Emeritus)
Political Science
sikkink@umn.edu
David Weissbrodt
Law
weiss001@umn.edu
Ragui Assaad
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
assaad@umn.edu
Alejandro Baer
Sociology and Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies
abaer@umn.edu
Elizabeth Boyle
Sociology
boyle014@umn.edu
Karen Brown
Interdisciplinary Center for the Study of Global Change
kbt@umn.edu
Oren Gross
Law School
gross084@umn.edu
Dario Menanteau
Social Work
dmenante@umn.edu
Fionnuala Ní Aoláin
Law School
niaol002@umn.edu
Luis Ramos-Garcia
Spanish & Portuguese
laramosg@umn.edu
James Ron
Political Science and Humphrey School of Public Affairs
jamesr@umn.edu
Joachim Savelsberg
Sociology
savel001@umn.edu
Mahmood Zaidi
Center for Human Resources and Labor Studies
mzaidi@umn.edu